RealInternships: Stephanie Salinas

On my last day at Children’s Hospital, I felt so many emotions rushing through me. Something I had not experienced in a while.

IMG_1601-1Joy, pride, privileged and honored for this experience, excited for the future, and afraid of the next steps in my life. I was humbled by the words of my supervisors, confident that I made a positive impression on my peers and supervisors, and bittersweet about closing this chapter of my life.

Hearing the words of my supervisors, “MVP”, excellent leader, reliable and consistent, humble, caring of not only the patients but my peers/coworkers as well … all these words left me stunned and feeling a mix of emotions. I left my internship that day feeling on top of the world and wanting to do more, to be better.

This internship has provided me with many different skills that will be essential as I work with youth throughout my career. I have developed the ability to facilitate group activities, as well as the ability to adapt and react accordingly and quickly to unexpected situations.

I got the chance to work one-on-one with patients who had a hard time being in groups. Even though the individual work only consisted of playing games or doing arts & crafts, this was one of my favorite parts of the internship because I was able to form a stronger connection with the patients.

Although my experience here is over, my experience somewhere else is just beginning – and thanks to my experience at Children’s Hospital I will be more confident, motivated, and passionate elsewhere.

Print

Leave a Reply

