RealInternships: Jessica Vallejo

I cannot believe my time at LULAC is over. Over the past few weeks I have continued working on the national immigration college initiative that my boss asked me to take on. The initiative is aimed at spreading awareness regarding comprehensive immigration reform by connecting students with their members of Congress, to ensure they know that comprehensive immigration reform is a top priority for Americans. In this specific initiative, the target audience is college students. Now that I have layed out the infrastructure of the initiative and established the colleges and universities which we plan on extending invitations to, to join our program, we have made more progress towards our final goal.

jessica

One thing that excited me specifically during the process, was our decision that creating a website for our initiative would be the ideal way to communicate. I have layed out everything related to the website–from its look and feel, to the various headings, subheadings, and text that will be included within them. It has the usual About LULAC section,  About Immigration reform (discussing where we are in the process, what the process is, and why getting involved is important). It also has a subheading How to Get Involved, detailing how student organizations can get involved and what our asks of them would be. There is also a section that includes training, and gives all the necessary facts and statistics, to ensure that the information that is being disseminated is all correct (with those, will be downloadable toolkits and such). Included is also blog-like section on the website so all of the groups can write updates on what they are doing and give them a larger sense of accountability. I cannot wait to see students throughout the country doing voter registrations, setting up meetings with their members of congress, hosting events, and spreading awareness of comprehensive immigration reform!

My time at the League of United Latin American Citizens  (LULAC) has been such a great learning experience and so much more rewarding than I could have ever imagined! I have had the opportunity to work on so many great projects, learn from amazing people, and truly build a skill set to better provide service to others in the future.

I absolutely love all the work that we do and everything that we stand for at LULAC, but I definitely think that my supervisor is who has made this experience for me. Although being quite young, my supervisor has a great amount of experience in various areas of politics and a great amount of knowledge and wisdom. From the first day Sindy took a great interest in me, and demonstrated that she was invested in my learning and growth throughout the internship. She did a great job of “looping me in” to the things she was working on, which allowed me to gain a better understanding of civic engagement and the processes that rule this. I also enjoyed that she brought me to meetings and allowed me to see how things work at the various levels. She often times also pushed me to step out of my comfort zone, making me grow both as a professional and as an individual.

Sindy is also huge on networking and I am really happy that she gave me so many tips on networking and actually made me implement them. Giving us business cards definitely facilitated this.  Everything about my internship was great, the people I worked with, the substantive work I was able to do, and most importantly the relationship I was able to foster with Sindy. I will probably also be coming back to DC post graduation, I love the professional and overall environment in DC!

Print

Leave a Reply

