RealInternships: Samuel Lee

In the next few days, I will be headed up to Boston to begin my internship at the U.S. Department of Labor, Women’s Bureau. Though I will be near several of my peers living in Boston, I feel that this summer will offer a new level of both autonomy and responsibility as a full time intern in the city. This will be my first time living in a city, outside of a college campus, and I am just as curious as I am thrilled for the adventure that is before me.

samuel leeI have never worked for a federal organization before, so I am excited to learn about operations and the inner workings of the Federal Government. In the last three years, I have studied many of the issues concerning women in the workforce through sociology, but now I have been given the opportunity to see first hand how the federal government targets these issues.

Having visited my office a few times before, I know that the Bureau is adjacent to many different branches of the Department of Labor. I am curious to see how this branch works with other departments and branches of the government as well as state and local entities. Additionally, I know that this internship will be a great opportunity for me to network with other government branches and build my own knowledge of helping people through the public sector.

Print

 

Leave a Reply

