RealInternships: Jessica Vallejo

Today was my first day at my internship and already I’m loving it! The League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) is the largest and oldest civil rights and advocacy group in the United States; LULAC works to advance the economic condition, educational attainment, political participation, health, and civil rights of Latinos in the United States, through community based programs at more than 900 LULAC councils nationwide. The National Office, where I am located, in Washington DC is responsible for overseeing all of the country’s regional, state, and local chapters.

jessicaIn the next few weeks, everyone at LULAC is focused on the organization’s big annual event the LULAC National Convention and Exposition. As the premier Hispanic convention, the LULAC National Convention draws over 20,000 participants each year including the top leaders from government, business, and the Hispanic community. For the first few weeks then, I expect to work in a very fast paced and exiting environment, assisting with the final planning, coordinating, and execution of the convention.

After the Convention, as the Immigration Policy intern, I expect to be doing a lot of research and hands-on work with legislation and policy. From what I learned today from Sindy, my mentor, she is working on an initiative where she will put on a couple hundred Immigration Townhalls throughout the country, in order to engage everyone from legislators to community leaders, members, and experts in the conversation of immigration reform.

Sindy, along with the rest of the staff, have been nothing but welcoming, helpful, and sweet, even under their high stress due to the proximity of the Convention! Sindy, on my first day, and in between all the business, took the time to take me out to coffee, get to know me and find out about my interests, strengths, weaknesses, and what I wanted to get out of the experience. She is truly interested and invested my success. I am truly excited for what is to come, I know I have a great amount of work in front of me, and seeing as how much I have already learned in one day, I know I will grow a lot throughout this summer!

Print

One response to “RealInternships: Jessica Vallejo

  1. I am so proud of you Jessica. You have made your dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

