RealInternships: Adam Ellenthal

Returning somewhere is sometimes more difficult than setting off for a new place. It seems to confuse one’s own definition of home; home becomes spread across the world with different definitions of family, friends, food, and culture. One’s identity is no longer as simple as I am a New Yorker, or I study in Boston; it becomes I am from New York, I live in Boston, my permanent address is a house in Miami I’ve barely lived in, and Perú is a place that makes me feel at home, but the reason why is constantly becoming. I could not say why Perú makes me feel at home since I stand out as a foreigner to Peruvians and most foreigners think I’m a local: my dark skin and poor accent leave me in a no-man’s land between the two groups. I guess that is what is so refreshing about Perú, being free of a group. I am free to define myself, with no preexisting suppositions, by my actions and my intent. I am free to become what I want here. I expect to go back to Perú, to go back home, and define myself as good. I am only two weeks into my time here, but I have delivered donations to hospitals throughout the region, inventoried and packed supplies to support three free medical campaigns, and have helped the volunteers that I oversee to form real connections with this country. I’m glad to have come home.

This is a picture of me with a local police officer in front of our sign for our free medical campaign in Trujillo. We gave hot chocolate out to the children right before this photo was taken.

This is a picture of me with a local police officer in front of our sign for our free medical campaign in Trujillo. We gave hot chocolate out to the children right before this photo was taken.

Print

Leave a Reply

