RealJobs: Mike Zarrilli

Given that I’m currently a Risk Analyst, which can be interesting but certainly not as blog content, there’s not too much that’s exciting to report for Thursday.  I had a call with the accountant on the deal I was working on and was able to ask her questions about the accounting changeover.  Luckily, we had a breakthrough and the puzzle started becoming easier to put together.  We should be closing the deal shortly, which I’m very excited about.  I’m also getting very excited for my move.  While living in Southern California for 8 months is an unbelievable opportunity, I’m equally as excited for the content of my next role.  Now that I’ve put in some time and have a decent understanding of the business, I’ll get to have a lot more customer interaction and go on meetings with sales reps (or originators, as we call them, because the deals “originate” with them).  As I mentioned in my first post, this is what I’m really looking for in a career.

That whole “career” concept is something that I imagine anyone reading this is pondering.  I’m often asked how I like the GE rotational program concept.  Personally, I love it, but it’s probably not for everyone.  I like it because it gives me options, exposure to different jobs, exposure to different places, and A LOT of exposure to senior leadership at GE.  They truly treat these programs as an investment (GE invest over $1 billion in training each year) and senior leaders meet with us frequently to ensure they’re getting a return on their investment.  That being said, for people who want to live in one place forever, know exactly what they want to do with their lives, or are looking for a job with the most initial compensation possible, the program route probably isn’t the right one.  The program is definitely a long-term play.  These two years are about learning, growing, and figuring out where your passion is.  For me, it couldn’t be working out more perfectly.

Hopefully if you’ve actually read this blog you’ve gotten at least one thing out of it.  If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to me at Michael{dot}zarrilli{at}ge{dot}com.

headshot

Leave a Reply

