RealJobs: Rosie Guerin

Wednesday morning was devoted to Tony Kushner. He is nominated for a Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar for “Lincoln.” You know him, of course, from his Tony, Pulitzer, Emmy-award winning play, “Angels In America.”

The segment producer, Neil, requested we cut and prepare the trailer and three clips from the film. Generally speaking the clip files themselves come from the movie studios or we access them via an electronic press kit. We download, then import into the editing system of choice — Avid primarily, occasionally Edius. Neil also asked for clips from a few past interviews Charlie did that referenced Lincoln. (We prepare them all and sometimes they’re all utilized, sometimes not.) For archival material we generally request tapes from our warehouse. Charlie Rose has been on the air for 21, going on 22 years, so archiving is essential.  Our website is a goldmine of interviews from years back, and we’re now on Hulu. I digress.

When Kushner clips were done I spent some of the afternoon on administrative stuff, then it was time to tape. It was a fantastic segment (very few have as eloquent and elegant grasp of language as Tony Kushner), I took a quick photo after, and we wrapped for the day — taping, at least.

The Oscar show, which I have mentioned before, is a longer-term project that I am working on with Yvette, Torrey, our editor, and our director. It is an arduous process that requires significant planning and orchestration. This year, the portion of it that will be on-camera, Charlie’s script read, will be shot in a studio that is different than our usual spot, which requires even more forethought.
At the end of the day on Wednesday, we met to discuss the show, progress we’ve made, what sorts of graphics we’ll want, and the production schedule. It ended up being a longer meeting than anticipated as we toured the new set, talked about camera movements and monitor placement, and brainstormed. As I say it is an on-going project so it lives at the back of my mind, and the collaboration continues day-to-day.
 rosie headshot
I’ll sign off with a word about internships. Two words, actually. Do them. I’m stating the obvious when I say I wouldn’t likely have gotten this job had I not been an intern. The internship at CR introduced me to many of my current colleagues, for one, and the dynamic of the workplace, for another. After I finished my internship here I continued to romanticize the idea of working in public television. By way of an electronic introduction to a colleague of a cousin (and assistance from the BC Career Center) I ended up with an internship in the pledge department at WGBH. I loved it. I rode my bike there a couple times a week between classes and work, and learned even more about television from the masters of public TV.
I encourage my brother, who is in college at the moment, to pursue internships he is interested in, or even thinks he might be interested in. That’s the beauty of an internship, in my opinion — you don’t have to be sure about anything.  It’s “real life” work experience, responsibility, accountability.  But most of all, it affords you the ability to pick and choose what you like and don’t like about a particular job (and sometimes career field), and when you’re released into the wild, that knowledge (sometimes it’s even just a gut feeling) is invaluable.
Thanks for reading. I’ll leave you with a couple more photos. I mentioned live shows yesterday. We did a live show – half our team in New York, half in Tampa, FL – for the Republican National Convention. Here, in a long shot, our brand new Secretary of State, John Kerry, speaking at the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina:
image
And President Obama and the First Family after his speech:image2
Leave a Reply

