RealJobs: Tom Sullivan

It is Friday and it was a long week that was filled with setting up visits for clients who are flying to Washington, DC during the last week of February and the first week of March.  The grunt work of setting up meetings is part of being an effective lobbyist.  However, the work makes me feel as though I am an event planner (which I am), not a policy expert.

33fc082

Once my clients get here, it is like a military operation, with several meetings going on at the same time, with clients crisscrossing the Capitol to get from one meeting to the next.  Our goal in my lobbying group is that any client who travels to Washington should leave here exhausted.  And, we will certainly accomplish that for the folks who are coming here in two weeks.

A great part of my job (and every job since I moved to Washington, DC in 1993) are the “pinch me moments.”  During those times I feel remarkably blessed to live in work in the nation’s capital.  For instance, I continue to get goose bumps when I walk into the U.S. Capitol – because of its history and importance to the United States and our democracy —  and that’s the way it should be.   Here is a picture of the Capitol I took on a day recently that was unseasonably warm (the groundhog didn’t see his shadow, so Spring will come early…).

capitol

This week, most of the policy discussion centered around President Obama’s State of the Union address that took place on Tuesday night.  It is easy to get caught up in the excitement of policy discussions and events that happen before and after work hours.  However, the true joy I have in life is not at work, but at home.  For instance, Tuesday night was my oldest son’s first Cub Scout meeting.  Seeing his face made me forget all about the clients coming to Washington in a few weeks J   Here’s a picture that says it all.

boyscout

Leave a Reply

