RealJobs: Alexandra Faklis

Today was one of those “put your head down and work” days. I didn’t have any meetings scheduled, so I was able to completely focus on my project work and the internal initiative.  I consider myself to be pretty extroverted (meaning I prefer to be interacting with people), but every once in a while, it’s nice to have quiet day when you can get a lot done!

I spent the majority of my morning pulling together a file related to the university’s operations costs.  I received some direction from my Director last night on how to complete this analysis.  I reviewed a similar file that we had created for the institution in FY08 and started to put the pieces of the puzzle together. And, a few hours later, it was time for lunch.  I know that I’m engaged in my job when I’m not looking at the clock waiting for the day to be over.  When I’m problem-solving, I’m engaged (since I’m constantly thinking), and I would say a good portion of consulting is using your context and skills to find the answer to the task at hand.  I usually put in a 10 hour day, but it honestly flies by.

I went out to lunch with a colleague that I hadn’t seen in a while.  It was nice to get out of the office and hear about how his projects were progressing.  I believe that another key to being successful in consulting is internally networking. I don’t view networking as something “I have to do to get ahead” but rather as a great opportunity to learn more about my colleagues and their work. You’d be surprised how many work-related opportunities are presented to you by people that you had not previously worked with in a project team setting.  I make an effort to grab lunch with co-workers at least every other day that I’m in the office (as long as I have an hour to spare!)

I finished up the afternoon collaborating with another project team member to prep files that we need to run through our company’s software in order to calculate the F&A rate for our client. In consultants’ recommendations, they often note that certain technologies would help internal processes.  Several firms leave it at that.  What gives Huron a competitive edge is that we understand the clients’ needs and have responded by developing several types of software that ultimately improve our clients’ operations.   It’s a very exciting place to be because you’re able to implement systems that make a long-lasting difference.

I’ll be wrapping up the day by working on collateral for a new service line that we’ll be selling starting in the spring.

Headshot_AF

That’s all for today!

Leave a Reply

