RealJobs: Mike Zarrilli

What’s up, Eagles.  My name is Mike Zarrilli and since graduating from BC this past May, there are two things I’ve done on a regular basis.  The first is miss Boston College, which generally happens Monday-Sunday.  The second is report to work at GE Capital, which generally happens Monday-Friday.  While the latter doesn’t boast Saturday afternoons in Alumni and Tuesday nights at MA’s, my time in the Commercial Leadership Program (CLP) at GE Capital has been both enjoyable and a tremendous learning experience thus far. 
headshot

My path to the cubicle in Norwalk, CT where I’m currently sitting began at 38 Commonwealth Avenue, commonly known as the Career Center.  As a student worker there, I got to see a lot of jobs come across my desk and felt like I had a pretty good handle on what was out there (turns out I was pretty clueless, but we’ll get to that in a later post).  After doing an Audit internship with one of the Big 4 firms the summer after my junior year, I came back to campus knowing that I wanted to look for a more client-facing job in which I could feel like I was making an impact on both the customer’s business and my own.  The CLP, a sales program at GE, caught my eye as a role that could fulfill that desire.

Over the course of 2 years at GE Capital, I’ll get the chance to serve in 3 different roles for 8 months each.  I’ll also get to live in 3 different cities.  As someone who gets bored quickly and admittedly still doesn’t know what he wants to be when he grows up, I find this appealing.  My first rotation is in Norwalk as a Risk Analyst.  Over the next week, I’ll fill you in on what my current role entails and how I’m preparing for the move out to Southern California next month where I’ll work as an Associate Sales Representative.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

