RealJobs: Anthony DiCosmo

Thanks for checking out  my blog.  My name is Anthony DiCosmo, or just  “Cos.” Cliff notes: I’m born and raised in Jersey, where I reside now with my two sons, Aeneas & Phoenix-Orion.  I was a foster kid adopted by an amazing family when I was 2.  I played football and ran track at BC.  I played a little professional football… 3 years…  Broke a foot and shut it down in 2003.  Went to grad school at Rutgers.  I’m now VP of Sports Marketing & Public Affairs at Nickelodeon.  I’ve been working at MTV Networks for the past 8 years. Over the next couple weeks, I’ll share some snapshots of my days at Nickelodeon.

I wear two hats at Nick— Public Affairs & Sports Marketing.  My primary function in my Public Affairs role is strategy and development of a pro-social campaign called The Big HelpThe Big Help uses all of Nickelodeon’s platforms and partnerships with community organizations, experts, and various government agencies to engage kids on important issues that affect their lives and creates opportunities for them to make a difference.  I like to call it “empowering kid power.”  Kids are very passionate about making a difference in their world.  They can be tremendous agents of change when given the tools, opportunity, and little bit of positive reinforcement.  I’m tasked with tapping into this energy and giving it a little focus. Health & wellness, environmental stewardship, civic engagement & volunteerism, bullying, digital citizenship, and crisis response are examples of issues addressed via The Big Help.Turltes

The other half of my job lives in the marketing world of Nickelodeon.  I spearhead sports for the brand.  I’m tasked with building partnerships and promotions that marry our brand to sports.  I work with some of the biggest sports leagues, teams and athletes.  I’ve worked on some really cool projects, like bringing SpongeBob to Major League Baseball, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles to Nascar, LeBron James, Carmelo Anthony, Dwyane Wade, and Chris Paul to Washington DC for Worldwide Day of Play, and Nickelodeon’s Big Time Rush to perform in front of 56 MM viewers at Cowboys Stadium for the Thanksgiving game.

I’ll do my best to send updates as often as possible.  Stay tuned!

Cos

 

 

Leave a Reply

