RealInternships: Jonathan Moy

There isn’t really a “typical” day at Road Scholar.The department I work in is very small with only three people (including myself) so every day I find myself doing something different.  Today, I made reference calls, archived documents, prepared employment packets, and enrolled new hires into Road Scholar’s insurance programs.  My day-to-day tasks include archiving employee documents, posting jobs online (on places like Craigslist, Monster, EagleLink), managing job applications for the offices in Massachusetts, Vermont, Maine, and New Mexico, and setting up candidate interviews for each office. Most recently, I have been working on building a compensation survey for the Board of Directors here at Road Scholar. I take Form 990s from various not-for-profit organizations similar to Road Scholar’s and compare and record how much each person on the Board makes with the corresponding Board members in the other organizations. This is done to make sure that the Board members’ salaries at Road Scholar are fair and reasonable. The hardest part of my job are the reference calls. It is nerve-wracking. Before making the calls, I rehearse what I need to and what I am allowed to say as the interviewer. I am constantly learning something new about employment and compliance laws here at Road Scholar, and I look forward to learning even more in the remaining weeks I have left.

Leave a Reply

