RealInternships: David Lam

My experience at my internship “DanceOn” has been amazing. Coming into this internship understanding the grunt work a Production Assistant would endure, I expected the worse and hoped for the best. Living up to those standards has made this internship one to remember.

As a small start up company with a short staff, they needed all the help they can get. Immediately, I was put in the edit suite given videos to edit right off the bat to be uploaded via YouTube. This was what I wanted to do, edit videos and pick up tricks in editing, learning first hand from those who have been in the busy for a while. At this internship in the past couple weeks, I have met famous YouTube stars, celebrities and have been on the set of “So You Think You Can Dance” and also attended a launch party for a new reality TV show soon to premiere on Oxygen “All The Right Moves”. This whole experience has been surreal but I have been taking this opportunity in stride and making the best of it.

Here are some of the videos I helped edit at my internship:

The most challenging experience I would I have to say would be editing each new project I receive because through all the footage I obtain, I have to turn all these miscellaneous clips to portray and transcend a message/story. I cannot universally edit all the projects the same way so its been challenging to compile an hours worth of footage into a 3-5 minute video that tells everything.

As far as memorable moments, it’s hard to say because there are so many. Doing a shoot at Malibu Beach and watching the sunset over the horizon. Interviewing the contestants at “So You Think You Can Dance” and also working on a video that went viral on YouTube. So it’s difficult to narrow to one memorable moment since they all have been memorable.

Leave a Reply

