RealJobs: Natasha Diokno

Wednesday was an awesome day.  I had a great day planning with the third grade team.  We looked at their student data, sorted our students into groups according to their needs, and poured over resources that will improve learning and instruction.  I really enjoyed working with the team.  They have really bonded with one another and as a result, they are in a good place to get things done.  My time with them ended at 12:30 pm and by 1:00 pm, I was in my seat at a science workshop.

In a matter of minutes, I shifted from facilitator to workshop attendee.  We were cutting word wheels, looking at the science standards, and looking over a page from USA Today for instructional activities.   My attention started to fade.  I began to think of all the other things I needed to do.  I sent some emails and surfed the net.  My emails and web surfing were all job related.  It was difficult for me to stay present mentally. Physically I was at the workshop, but mentally my mind was in about five other places on five different projects:  from what to make for dinner tonight  to how to fix my Excel spreadsheet.  However, I found a great cartoon related to teaching.  It was so funny that I had to share it with my staff and have decided to share it with you.  Also,  I have shared a couple of pictures of the third grade team!


Leave a Reply

