RealJobs: Aundrea Cline-Thomas

Thanks for visiting my blog. My name is Aundrea Cline-Thomas. I graduated from BC in 2004 with a degree in Communications and a minor in Black Studies. I’ve known that I wanted to be a news reporter since my first day on campus. I spent the next four years completing various internships, taking advantage of all of the resources at BC, being a part of the consortium that allowed me to take classes at BU and developing key partnerships at Emerson College.

Still as graduation approached I didn’t have a concrete plan about how to make this dream a reality. While many already had job offers or grad school plans, after graduation I went home to Maryland to figure things out. Just imagine what my parents were thinking! I ended up working with lobbyists for nearly a year before entering grad school at the University of Maryland. To make a long story short I graduated with a Masters degree in Broadcast Journalism and started my career.

Now I’m a reporter at WTVF, the CBS affiliate in Nashville,Tennessee. I mostly cover education but I also cover everything else. I moved to Music City in June. Before that I was a reporter in Charlotte, NC. My first job after grad school was a reporting position in Macon, GA. Remember I told you that I’m from Maryland! We’ll just say Macon was a unique experience!

Moving is a part of this career. It comes with it’s ups and downs. While your salary increases exponentially you start making NOTHING! Like $25,000 or less. It’s tough and many people don’t stick with it. Until this job I was writing, shooting and editing my own stories. Many people believe that being on TV is glamorous. Let me just say TV news isn’t. If that’s your motivation to pursue this career you will quickly learn that it’s not worth it. My passion to tell stories, help others and inform the public is why I have chosen to make so many sacrifices. Passion has to drive you because I’ve learned that nothing else will sustain you.

Thanks again for visiting my page as I take you through my week. No matter how hard I try, I never know what my week entails. Flexibility is key…so here we go!

Aundrea

One response to “RealJobs: Aundrea Cline-Thomas

  1. Well done Ms. Cline-Thomas. You have done well, and I am certain you will continue as CNN and MSNBC awaits your debut on the national scene!!

Leave a Reply

