RealJobs: Ari Daniel Shapiro

I’ve been both wrapping up and working on a handful of stories this week.  An audio slideshow I produced profiling a musician and underwater acoustician went live mid-week:

And I’ve been revising another audio slideshow about a scientist studying and tagging whale sharks in the Red Sea.  That one should be published within the next couple of months.

For an audio series I produce and host called One Species at a Time, we posted a story about the tropical tree Cinchona pubescens (http://education.eol.org/podcast/quinine-tree).  C. pubescens is one of the trees whose bark contains quinine, the anti-malarial drug.  The two botanists whom I interviewed didn’t hesitate to verbalize exactly the kind of excitement and passion that I love to include in my pieces.  I got to weave some different sounds into the story as well since the 5-minute episode took place inside both a large greenhouse at a botanical garden and in their herbarium, which is kind of like a dried plant warehouse.  The webpage has some photos as well.  The story will air on Monday on the Cape and Islands NPR station.

Nizar Hani, the scientific coordinator at the Shouf Cedar Reserve in Lebanon, describes the fragile condition of the cedar trees in his country. Credit: Ghinwa Choueiter.

Finally, I’ve been working on a few radio pieces.  One airs this weekend on Living on Earth.  The lead of the story starts: “The ocean is teeming with life, with chemistry and water masses, and – believe it or not – poetry.”  And it’s a piece that blends science and art from the perspectives of both oceanographers and poets.  The story will air about 40 minutes into the hour, and here’s how you can tune in: http://www.loe.org/where/where.htm

On a cold Boston morning, paleoecologist Mary Droser of UC Riverside and geologist Dick Bailey of Northeastern University point out fossils that underlie the entire city. Credit: Mary Dzaugis.

I’ve also been working on two radio stories from a trip I took to Japan in December for a program called The World (http://www.theworld.org).  One is about a lab in Tokyo that designs robots to help people do things with their bodies that would otherwise be impossible – lifting, walking, swallowing.  Another focuses on a city outside of Tokyo called Kawasaki – it used to be the most polluted in all of Japan but today it’s cleaned and greened up its act.  I’ll be exploring how Kawasaki did it, and how real its progress has been.

Please feel free to send me an email if you have any questions.  You can find my contact info and all my stories on my website: http://www.aridanielshapiro.com.  I also have an email list called [ari air] where I alert folks of my upcoming broadcasts.  It’s about 1-2 messages each month.  If you’d like me to add you, click here: http://groups.google.com/group/ari-air/subscribe?hl=en

Leave a Reply

