RealJobs: Santiago Bunce

Tuesday was a blur. The one thing I can remember is that it was the first day in a long time I didn’t take a jacket to campus (the classrooms can be a little chilly) and of course it was the one day that it was “cold” outside. I know, I should complain, and I’m not, but it’s truly amazing how quickly one’s blood can thin out.

Aside from that though, the day was quite simple. On the academic side, I continued to learn just how much of a nerd I am. I’m taking a quantitative methods course which focuses on statistical analysis and it’s amazing! On Tuesday our professor (who also plays on our undefeated intramural soccer team, and no, the competition isn’t that bad, we’re just that good) was explaining what information and variables are necessary within particular data sets. That might not mean much, but for me it was an opportunity to think of how to approach a paper I will be writing over the next month.

Primarily the paper focuses on water access and sanitation in Latin America and how it relates to quality of life and even education levels within the region. Or maybe it’ll have something to do with water access and distance from major cities…who knows? The point is, it was another moment where my classes and thought converged, and that’s always pretty cool.

And in case there was any doubt about my love for statistics, my friend and I are planning on starting a sports statistics club in our graduate program. Mostly we’ll focus on professional and collegiate sports, but hopefully, by the end up it we’ll be able to make ridiculous predictions like, the likelihood that ranked college basketball teams lose at home when their game starts before 5pm local time or the average number of times a quarterback gets hit in the NFL and what that means for pass completion. I know, I know, but I’m loving it!

Leave a Reply

