RealJobs: Margie Hermes

My name is Margie Hermes and I am a Family Physician.  I graduated from BC in 1984, after majoring in biology.  I went directly from college to George Washington University School of Medicine.  I wasn’t certain what field I would enter upon completion of med school.  I enjoyed most of my medical school clinical rotations and considered many fields including obstetrics, internal medicine with a fellowship in geriatrics and emergency medicine.  When doing my Family Medicine rotation, it felt completely right for me, so that is the career path that I chose.

I work in a private group practice with other Family Physicians.  Being a Family Physician means taking care of every age individual, from zero to one hundred, and all aspects of the patients.  I enjoy the long term relationships with individuals, as well as caring for their entire family.  The variety of clinical complaints keeps me from ever getting bored.  In addition to being a practicing physician, I teach both medical students and Family Practice Residents daily.  I do small group teaching/lectures and bedside clinical teaching.  I also am on various committees at the hospitals where I practice.  I participate in quality improvement measures and peer reviews.

My days at the office are generally 8-6, but the content is extremely variable.  In addition, I often bring home about an hour of work each night.  I am on call for my group about once a week, and am at the office until about 8 that night, and then take calls from patients and the hospital through the night from home.  I go to the hospital during the night to admit patients who are ill enough to be hospitalized.  Once a month, for a week at a time, I round at one of our hospitals for our group.  I do hospital rounds in the morning and then work at the office for the afternoon.  I also have to do rounds that weekend.

While at BC, I tried to do as many medically related activities as possible.  I did volunteer work and had a paid job as a nursing assistant at a local nursing home.  That job helped to confirm my desire to be involved in the medical care of patients and helped me to build my confidence in caring for people.  Currently, medical schools are looking for a variety of things.  Of course grades and MCAT scores are important, but volunteer work and medically related activities are also necessary to complete your application.

My husband, Dan Hermes, also graduated from BC in 1984.  He is a physician as well and works as an Emergency Room Physician.  His field is quite different from mine.  His patient encounters are typically onetime events without long term relationships.  He works shifts on an irregular basis, changing from days to nights to evenings without any pattern.  While he works less hours than I do, (generally he does 12 shifts that are 10 hours each month) the work is very intense, fast paced and stressful.  Our 2 children are now grown, but we were able to coordinate our work schedules when they were young so that one of us was home every night with them.  It seemed to work well for our family.

Leave a Reply

