RealJobs: Brian Zager

Monday is my longest day of the week. It’s not quite bad enough that the weekend is over, but to add insult to injury, I wind up being on campus from 8am until 8pm. I have office hours in the morning until I teach my class at eleven. Today we started a round of presentations on music as communication; the students are showing and talking about either live musical performances or music videos and their readings of them. I learned about a few new artists due to so many varying interests in the class.  Then I moved on to my 12 noon class where I had to quickly switch roles to assume the student role myself.

At one o’clock I met a friend for lunch at the student center. Not the best time to dine there when one is looking for quiet, but it did the trick. After lunch I spent two hours reading for later in the week so that I would be prepared to respond both in a discussion setting and in various written reflection papers.

Remember I said I was a graduate student advisor for an undergrad PR student group? Yes, well each Monday the “executive board” meets (this board includes the Pres/VP/Secretary/Treasurer, the faculty advisor, and myself) to discuss the matters that will come up in our regularly scheduled Wednesday meetings (with a group of about 50-60 people). This usually lasts an hour, but today I had to leave a few minutes early because I had to attend an intra-departmental discussion group that occurs every month. This talk ended with just enough time for me to grab a bottle of water before my Monday evening class began. This methodology class meets once a week and lasts from 5:30-8:00pm.

Needless to say, Monday nights usually see me eating dinner standing up over my stove, hungrily wolfing down a sandwich/soup/leftovers/etc. Then, emails are checked and responded to and the evening’s work begins…

The good news is that the days ease up after this hectic one. For example, I work from home on Tuesdays/Thursdays. Sound a bit more chilled out? Well, I’ll save that story for the next update…

Leave a Reply

