RealJobs: Deborah Federico

Deborah Federico’s work day on Tuesday, February 9, 2010.

Today is a very busy day!  Most of my days are booked solid with student appointments, walk-ins, mock interviews, meetings and teaching my career development classes.   Therefore, good time management skills and the ability to work quickly are essentials for this position.  Today I got into work at 8:00 to do last-minute prep for my 9:00 AM class on self-assessment while eating my breakfast.  Right after that, I came back to my office for student walk-in appointments and saw eight students non-stop between the hours of 10:00 and 12:00.  Most of the students came in for resume or cover letter reviews but one student came in to discuss his recent interview with Goldman Sachs.

During my lunch hour, I quickly ate my lunch at my desk while answering some personal, but mostly work-related, emails from student and coworkers.  Although I usually try to stay on top of my emails, I can see today that I’m getting a little bit backed up.  In between answering emails, I need to send out an email and informational packet to all of the students who are coming to an internship event I am conducting on Thursday afternoon and write my blog for this website!  I am under even more time pressure today because I need to leave at 4:00 for a personal appointment.  Usually, I have the last hour of the day to catch up on emails, projects, etc. and often stay at work until 5:30 or 6:00 to finish everything.

Between 2:00 and 3:00 I conducted two mock interviews with students.  All students in our career development course are required to do a mock interview with a career counselor or an employer who comes on campus.  I then provided feedback to these students on how they could do a better job on their real interviews.
My 3:00 appointment didn’t show so that was a welcome half-hour to catch up on my other work.  At 3:30 I had an appointment with a student in my class to discuss his individual career development.

Leave a Reply

