RealJobs: Ashley Naranjo, Assistant Summer Programs Director

Ashley Naranjo’s work day on Monday, February 8, 2010.

When I first graduated from Boston College, I was unsure of what my next step might be.  I had so many interests, that the thought of zoning in on just one was overwhelming. During my time in school, outside of my major, I also took part in two service trips to Latin America, did a work study job in the Student Development office, completed a Psychology Independent Study and was a member of UGBC. With so many interests, I was never sure if I would ever be able to find a career that would encompass all that I was looking for.

After graduating, I moved to Ecuador for a year with an international teaching program. It was a great move for a number of reasons, including perfecting my Spanish, teaching English, and providing a snapshot into another culture—all the while traveling through a beautiful and diverse landscape. (ashleyinquito.blogspot.com) Post teaching abroad, I continued working in the ESL (English as a Second Language) World. I returned to the Washington, DC area and became the Director of an International College. I loved working with International Students and helping them complete their TOEFL exam (an English equivalency test) to later continue on to another American University. For various reasons, I resigned from my position after a year and went on to my third career in three years since graduation. Both exciting and nerve-wracking.

In April 2009, I took on the role of Assistant Summer Programs Director for a private school in Northern Virginia. It is part of the larger Co-Curricular team, which encompasses everything that the children do on campus outside of the classroom. It is a rather new niche within the education world, especially for Elementary schools and is a year-round position. It is probably the most practical use of what I learned in college, mixed with a number of my personal interests. I am able to design various summer program curriculum for children, whether it be a science program, a cooking class, or what one might consider a “traditional camp experience”. In its 70th year of existence, the programs have been consistently evolving and it is exciting to be a part of this.

Ironically enough, school was canceled today because of record snowfall. I have been working on some marketing materials from home for a new satellite campus in the area and enjoying the day off.

Leave a Reply

